Western Odisha is a territory in western part of Odisha, India, extending from the Kalahandi district in the south to the Sundargarh district in the northwest. Western Odisha includes the districts of Balangir, Bargarh, Boudh, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Sambalpur, Sonepur, Sundargarh, and Aathamallik Sub-division of Angul District. Many residence refer to Western Odisha as Kosal region as well. Prior to the 5th century, Dakshin Kosal was one of the several names by which this region was known. It is a vast geographical area, exhibiting a great degree of cultural uniformity in terms of demography and life-style. This geographical area is also recognised by state government of Odisha as the area under Western Odisha Development Council (WODC). The Sonepur, Balangir, Nuapada, and Kalahandi districts of this region are also part of the Kalahandi Balangir Koraput or “KBK” area, noted for its high death rate from starvation and poverty. The book Cultural Profile of South Kosal depicts the rich history and culture of Kosalanchal. 2 February is observed as the Western Odisha day.