Nepali literature

Nepali Literature () refers to the literature of Nepal written in the Nepali language. The Nepali language has been the national language of Nepal since 1958. The Nepali language has also been recognized as a “major Indian literary language” by the Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters. The Nepali language evolved from Sanskrit and it is difficult to exactly date the history of Nepali literature since most early scholars wrote in Sanskrit. It is however possible to roughly divide Nepali literature into five periods.