Kunene (also known as Kaokoland) is one of the fourteen regions of Namibia and home to the Himba ethnic group. Compared to the rest of Namibia, it is relatively underdeveloped. This is due to the mountainous inaccessible geography and the dryness that significantly hinders agriculture. The region’s name comes from the Kunene River which forms the northern border with Angola. The largest town and capital is Opuwo. Kunene’s western edge is the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. In the north, it borders Angola’s Namibe Province, and in the far eastern part of its northern edge it borders Cunene Province. Domestically, it borders the following regions: Omusati – northeast, west of Oshana Oshana – northeast, between Omusati and Oshikoto Oshikoto – northeast, east of Oshikoto Otjozondjupa – east Erongo – south The region comprises six constituencies: Epupa, Opuwo, Outjo, Sesfontein, Kamanjab, and Khorixas.