Konkani (Devanāgarī: , ) Kannada script: ಕೊಂಕಣಿ () is an Indo-Aryan language belonging to the Indo-European family of languages and is spoken along the western coast of India. It is one of the 22 scheduled languages mentioned in the 8th schedule of the Indian Constitution and the official language of the Indian state of Goa. It is a minority language in Maharashtra, Karnataka and northern Kerala (Kasaragod district). and in Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu Konkani is a member of the southern Indo-Aryan language group. It retains elements of the old Indo-European language structure and shows similarities with both western and eastern Indo-Aryan languages.