Nicosia ( ; ; ; ) is the capital and largest city on the island of Cyprus, as well as its main business centre. It is located near the centre of the Mesaoria plain, on the banks of the River Pedieos. Nicosia is the capital and seat of government of the Republic of Cyprus. It is the southeasternmost capital of the EU member states. Having been in continuous habitation for over 4500 years, Nicosia has been the capital of the island since the 10th century. Nicosia was divided into the southern Greek Cypriot and the northern Turkish Cypriot parts in 1963, following the intercommunal violence that broke out in the city. Today, the northern part of the city is the capital of Northern Cyprus, a de facto state, and is considered by the international community as occupied Cypriot territory since the Turkish invasion in 1974. Through the years Nicosia has established itself as the island’s financial capital and its main international business centre. The city was ranked in 2012 as the 5th richest city in the world in relative purchasing power. In the past few years Nicosia has seen remarkable progress regarding its infrastructure.